Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dirty DNA

Dirty DNA

Sadly it doesn't look like I will ever be able to buy a DNA board. A while back I contacted Curt to see if he would entertain the thought of sharing the board layout so I could try my hand a making my own. I was actually surprised that I got a response but it contained words such as "..commercial venture.." "..build it for cheap.." "..undercut our market..". Fair enough.

With that door closed I decided that this time was probably as good as any to learn how to use Cadsoft Eagle. I've always had an interest in electronics even thought I am a Mechanical Engineer by trade. I reckoned that Eagle couldn't be much different to the CAD/CAM packages I am familiar with.

Cadsoft offers a freeware version of Eagle for boards under 3"x4". This is plenty of room for most hobbyist. There is a bit of a learning curve to the software but there are lots of online tutorials as well as the invaluable YouTube resource.

I gathered together all of the info pertaining to the DNA venture and set to work on the schematic for the main board. Curt had posted a "napkin engineering" version of it that got me started. I listed out all the components that were mentioned in the blog and gathered all of their data sheets. The puzzle was starting to come together but I was still missing sections

The saving grace was the pictures of the board layout. This held the key to the parts I was missing. I separated the layer colors into individual images and was able to complete the sections of the schematic that were missing.