Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spire parts

Spire parts

Hi All

Recently purchased a Virtue Spire and was not all too impressed with it. One of the issues I've had is how frail some of the parts are. So I've decide to make a few replacements myself. I'll keep this thread updated as I create more/different replacement parts. I will make these files available to the public so others can 3d print their own.

1. Drive cone
    I picked my spire up second hand and the drive cone was already showing wear. The wear itself was not my major issue, but it was continually shedding little flaps of soft rubber. This annoyed me to no end. So I drew up a new, hard/solid drive cone. Have gone through three iterations already and settled on a near final design. Due to the size restrictions it had to be a two piece design to be able to install it. Two halves are held together with two 020 o-rings.

Prelim testing looks promising and it does not seem to be much harder on paint than the original soft cone. Put a bit of Empire Evil through it with the new cone and have not had any issues. There are a few Spire users at my home field, so I'll hand a few out for testing. I'll put it through another week or two's worth of heavy testing before I release the files.

Other planned replacements:
    Trim strip (also already broke)
    Back plate (waiting for it to break)
    Replacements buttons (just picked up a second hand shell without them, so might as well make these too.

Not sure if you know this or not, but Virtue will upgrade your backplate and (IIRC) replace any broken parts on a Spire.

Not that this isn't cool, but thought you should know.