Thread: Chronoing/testing indoors

Insider

Chronoing/testing indoors

Just curious, what setup you guys have for chronoing/testing guns in shops/labs?

I tried the old box with padding trick, ended up with splatter and bounces all over the shop (plus I hate shooting across the room). Also tried setting up a bit of PVC pipe with a catch on the end and a radar, didn't work well at all. Another local retailer/tech I know has something like a fenced-off indoor cricket lane, I just don't have that much space.

2x4 frame with an angled back wrapped in a few layers of an old sheet. I have a few layers that hang freely in the front. Just sits on a table behind the chronograph. Works pretty well provided I don't accidentally shoot the frame instead of the hanging sheet. The vast majority of paint I shoot into it does not break making cleanup really easy too.

i have some reballs, but rarely use them or forget to use them.

since i'm an amateur, i just go into my backyard.

Supports Inception Designs
    We use an A-Box with A-Ball here at the shop...just like re-ball they are rubber balls and the a-box is a heavy canvas shooting box that Angel makes. It works great and hangs from our ceiling on a pulley system.

Palmers had a shooting alley under the catwalk with hanging sheets like Yoda had mentioned that worked very well, but took up a lot of room at the shop when i worked there, now they use something similar to the one i describe next...