Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rapid Prototype machine: Buying one very soon. Input wanted.

Insider

Rapid Prototype machine: Buying one very soon. Input wanted.

I am going to get a RP machine for the business. I am thinking a printerbot Replicator 2 or maybe a RIP-RAP or....

Budget is about $2500. I want higher resolution over speed, and ease of use (I am a total RP newb) but I am quite sharp on the CAD side of it. I would like to order this week. I want to be able to do a full gun body at least, so a smaller machine is out.

I will also be availible for some for a few fun projects (RP the Simonized Cocker for one) and who knows what else.

So, any thoughts, input, experiences throw them at me.

Insider
    https://store.makerbot.com/replicator2.html Not a bad option, long lead time

RepRap, sheesh my spelling today... Tons on ebay.

https://shop.ultimaker.com/en/ High resolution... long shipping time maybe

Any other thoughts?

Insider
    The CNC side is actually very easy - slicing models, creating infill etc is all pretty much automated nowadays :P
    At the moment I have an injection-moulded Huxley derivative by SeeMeCNC. Was using a RepRap before, it was incredibly finicky though. Also had an extruder mounted on a DIY CNC at one point.

I haven't used one yet, but Rostock delta designs are the new hotness. Here's SeeMeCNC's.
    I probably wouldn't bother with the Ultimaker BTW.

e. Just FYI there's a practical limit for resolution, owing to the fact that plastic tends to bead up at the tip of the hot end. XYZ resolution generally ends up being way higher than the actual print resolution. If you want super res in a hobbyist machine, go for one of the DLP-based (resin) printers. I find extruder machines fine for most prototyping though, you have better materials for feedstock and can always manually fix details and chemically smooth edges.
    Last edited by neftaly; 12-17-2012 at 08:42 PM.